Akshara Bridge

Version 6.4

Akshara Bridge summary

A comprehensive open source Devanāgarī and Indic script transliteration tool

Akshara Bridge converts between several kinds of text that represent Devanāgarī, romanizations of Devanāgarī, and other related scripts of India and southeast Asia. Devanāgarī is the alphabet that is used to write Hindi, Marathi, and certain other Indian and Nepali languages. Sanskrit is often written in Devanāgarī but it may also be written in a variety of Indic and Southeast Asian scripts.

The conversion that Akshara Bridge performs is transliteration, i.e. conversion of sounds from one script to another. It does not translate, i.e. convert meanings from one language to another.

Akshara Bridge installation file  •  EXE 15.3M

Akshara Bridge source code  •  ZIP 960K  •  Akshara Bridge is written in Harbour and Harbour MiniGui Extended, and uses the UnicodeLib library.

Akshara Bridge converts between the following Devanāgarī formats:

  • Unicode Devanagari
  • Unicode Bengali
  • Unicode Gurmukhi
  • Unicode Gujarati
  • Unicode Oriya (Odia)
  • Unicode Tamil
  • Unicode Grantha
  • Unicode Telugu
  • Unicode Kannada
  • Unicode Malayalam
  • Unicode Sinhala
  • Unicode Thai
  • Unicode Tibetan
  • Unicode Myanmar
  • Unicode Khmer
  • Unicode Balinese
  • Unicode IAST romanization
  • Unicode IAST cyrillization
  • Unicode National Library at Kolkata romanization
  • Inscript romanization
  • WX romanization
  • Remington romanization (DevLys, 10 Kruti Dev types, Krishna, Agra)
  • ITrans romanization
  • Harvard-Kyoto romanization
  • Velthuis romanization
  • SLP1 romanization
  • Fairfield romanization
  • Fairfield Hindi romanization
  • Vedic97 Devanagari
  • VedicTrans97 IAST
  • Sanskrit 99 Devanagari
  • Sanskrit 99 IAST
  • Sanskrit 98 Devanagari
  • Sanskrit 98 IAST
  • Hunterian romanization
  • Indian-Russian Practical Transcription
  • Custom conversion that you design

Additional features:

  • Input from an onscreen text box, a text file, or an RTF file.
  • Output to an onscreen text box, a text file, or an RTF file.
  • Conversion errors to an onscreen text box, a text file, or an RTF file.
  • Sort text by Devanagari and Latin alphabet order.
  • Count syllables in Devanagari text.
  • Convert between ANSI, UTF-16, and UTF-8 formats.
  • Convert between Unicode and HTML character entities
  • Detect, add, or remove a byte order mark (BOM) in a Unicode text file.
  • Perform above operations on files with an optional command line program.
  • Extensive help with glossary and detailed character charts.
  • Supports Unicode version 11.0.
Akshara Bridge screen shots
Akshara Bridge main screen
Akshara Bridge conversion type selection screen
Akshara Bridge expanded input screen
Akshara Bridge expanded output screen
Version 3.2

UnicodeLib library and source code  •  ZIP 100K  •  UnicodeLib is a Harbour library for processing Unicode text.

UnicodeLib converts between the following Unicode formats:

  • ANSI—Extended ASCII using Windows code page 1252 and others
  • UTF-8—8-bit Unicode format
  • UTF-16LE—16-bit Unicode format, little endian type
  • UTF-16BE—16-bit Unicode format, big endian type
  • Array—Unicode code points in a numeric array
  • Escape—String with embedded Unicode escape sequences
  • RTF—Contents of an RTF file, which can include Unicode
  • HTML—Contents of an HTML file, which can include Unicode

UnicodeLib also includes:

  • UTF-8 and escape string analogs of AT(), ASCPOS(), LEFT(), LEN(), PADx(), SUBSTR(), etc.
  • UTF-8, UTF-16, RTF, HTML, and escape string analogs of CHR()
  • UTF-16 analogs of ASCPOS()
  • Functions for detecting and verifying the Unicode format of a string
  • Functions for adding and removing byte order marks
  • Functions for moving forwards and backwards one or more characters within UTF-8, UTF-16, and escape strings
  • Functions for converting between Unicode and ANSI control pages
  • Functions for converting between surrogate pairs and upper plane characters
  • Detailed manual

Akshara Bridge was launched on पुरुषोत्तम एकादशि, 11 June 2007.